Latest News

View All


History of the NCRA

The National Championship Racing Association will be entering its 44th year as a sanctioning body in 2015.  One only has to look back to see that the series has come a long way since its inception back in 1971.

Prior to 1971, there existed no type of organization in the Central and Southwestern United States to bring together the vast potential of open wheel racing.  In February of that year, nine successful track operators from these regions gathered in Oklahoma City to discuss the situation.  From this meeting, NCRA was born.

Each member sanctioned one event in 1971 with a combined total of $50,000 in prize money.  In 2014, the National Championship Racing Association pad out nearly three quarters of a million dollars in prize money to its sanctioned divisions!  Sprint Car, Late Model, and Modified.  Combined, the three divisions counted for a total of 454 teams from 18 states that competed with the series in 2014.

The NCRA Racing Series features a host of teh nations best drivers and teams dueling for a chance to become an NCRA Racing Series Champion. Car counts in all divisions have been exceptional with the series since its inception and remains on of the most recognized bodies for good car count and competitive action at each venue.  The racing is close and exciting, adding to our fan base each year.  Through marketing, participation, and partnership, the NCRA Racing Series continues to take the lead in "Brand Awareness" marketing in the dirt track auto racing industry.